USCG International Maritime Organization (IMO)



Please note: Some of the Web sites listed below are not federal government Web sites, and may not necessarily operate under the same laws, regulations and policies as federal Web sites.


The IMO consists of seven technical Sub-Committees which support the work of the five policy-making committees. The Sub-Committees are under the direct instructions of the Maritime Safety Committee (MSC) and the Marine Environment Protection Committee (MEPC).  Like the Committee sessions, the Sub-Committee sessions are attended by maritime experts from Member Governments, together with those from interested intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations.

Nine Sub-Committees, BLG, COMSAR, DE, DSC, FP, FSI, NAV, SLF, and STW, that existed up until 2013, were amalgamated into seven. Each new Sub-Committee was provided with new terms of reference and will meet under their new names and terms of reference beginning in January 2014. This reorganization resulted from an initiative by the IMO to become more efficient with resources.

The work of the seven Sub-Committees is described by their titles, as follows:

  • Carriage of Cargoes and Containers (CCC)
  • Human Element, Training and Watchkeeping (HTW)
  • Implementation of IMO Instruments (III)
  • Navigation, Radio-communication and Search and Rescue (NCSR)
  • Pollution Prevention and Response (PPR)
  • Ship Design and Construction (SDC)
  • Ship Systems and Equipment (SSE)


For question or more information about the Coast Guard's work with the IMO, please contact:

U.S. Coast Guard Headquarters
Commercial Regulations and Standards (CG-5PS)
2703 Martin Luther King Junior Avenue, SE
Stop 7509
Washington, DC 20593
Email: LT Emily Rowan

Last Modified: 12/22/2023